Applications for the SLIC Awards 2024 are now open. 

The SLIC Awards recognise the outstanding contribution Scottish library services and their teams make to support their communities. They are an amazing opportunity for libraries to showcase staff-driven initiatives that have greatly enhanced user experience.

The Awards are open to all SLIC members which includes Scottish Public Library Services, many Further Education and Higher Education Libraries, and Specialist Libraries throughout Scotland. Winners of both awards will receive a trophy and a cash prize. 

Library teams can enter two categories - the SLIC Library Service Excellence Award and/or the SLIC Project Excellence Award. 

All entries must highlight the work of library services and teams which demonstrate exceptional innovation and service design between June 2023 and June 2024. 

An independent panel of judges will choose the eventual winners which will be announced at the SLIC Showcase and AGM on Friday 8th November 2024.

How to Enter

To enter the SLIC Awards simply download and fill in the appropriate form below.

Submissions must be made before 12 noon on Monday 2nd September 2024. The SLIC Award shortlist will be announced week commencing Monday 30th September 2024.

Rules of Entry
  • The Awards are open to SLIC member organisations only.
  • Only one entry per SLIC member organisation will be accepted for each category.
  • Initiatives eligible for the Award must have taken place between 1st June 2023 and 1st June 2024.
  • The terms innovation and service design can be interpreted widely.
  • All entries must have the approval of the Director or Head of Library Service.
  • The deadline for entries is Monday 2nd September 2024 at 12 noon. Late entries will not be accepted.
  • All entries will be considered by an independent panel of three judges; the judges’ decision is final.
  • SLIC staff will not be involved in any decisions regarding the judging or the shortlist.

To apply, please click on the SLIC Service Excellence Award and/or the SLIC Project Excellence Award below to download the application form.

SLIC Service Excellence AwardSLIC Project Excellence Award